A dear friend and I were having a conversation yesterday about feeling insecure in relationships. 

This is what we came up with:

When we're feeling insecure in our relationships, a lot of us will look at our partner and what he or she needs to give us in order to make us feel more secure (like "he doesn't tell me I'm beautiful" or "he doesn't appreciate me").  But security is not something someone else can give us.  True confidence is internal.

The more helpful question we should be asking is not "Does my Partner think I'm awesome?" but "Do I think I'm awesome?"  If the answer is "yes", then you are correct and you probably weren't feeling insecure to begin with.  If the answer is "no", then get happy because you just discovered the source of your problem!  Its not your partner, your family, or anyone else.  Its you! 

The good news is you can Always change You!  In fact, you are one of the only things whose change you can really control.  So have fun with your design! 

Here's to the Awesomeness that you are, and are becoming!

Suzy
7/23/2010 05:36:15 am

Ain't that the truth? I've always believed that you can't even begin to love another if you can't love yourself first. As you think so you are and as you are so you attract. If I'm in a situation where I feel insecure, it is indeed my own doing. That makes life so much simpler doesn't it? If I know where the trouble is, I can fix it right? Keep writing.. Suzie Q

Reply



Leave a Reply.