This morning is his free flow song (that he makes up as he goes along), my son said "an artist is someone who paints everyday, paints all the time.  An artists is very smart."  Right away I realized two things.

First, adults overcomplicate Everything!  As a recently recovered artist and creative, I've been philosophizing about art and arm wrestling with angels about what it means to be an artist etc.. (probably ad nauseum)  Yet, here my son had broken it down to the most basic and crucial component: an artist is someone that consistently chooses to work on her or his craft often - Very often.  The most important part is simply Showing Up!

But what about Talent?  What about Quality?  The first is a miniscule portion of being an artists, the second comes by showing up!

The second thing I realized through his sing song "an artist is very smart" is how much my 4 year old's beliefs already reflect his environment.  Naturally, this is the view that his two creative parents have passed along to him.  I wonder how many other 4 year olds have already formed beliefs that artists are crazy and doctors are smart. 

Values are highly communicable and contagious!  What values are you communicating today?  On a regular basis? What values are we communicating as a nation?  As a planet?

Peace ; )

Suzy



Leave a Reply.