The busier I am, the more important it becomes for me to find time to play.  With all the responsibilities and To Do lists running through our heads, it can be hard to remember how important it is to make time for fun.  The funny thing is, once you make that time, chances are you'll have more energy to accomplish the rest of your "chores".  You'll probably also find ways to make the rest of your work fun as well.

I have a young child and sometimes I like to ask myself whether I'm the kind of adult my own inner child wants to be.  If the answer is "no", chances are I'm not getting enough play time.  Whether its browsing through a bookstore, singing at the top of your lungs, or building a fort our of pillows with your child, we all need to make time for fun.

Also, play doesn't always require as much time as you may think.  Sure, you may not be able to cook a 4 course meal (if that's your idea of a good time) but you sure can sing opera at the top of your lungs or rap while making your mac 'n cheese!

You might look and feel crazy but George Bernard Shaw said "We want a few mad people now.  See where the sane ones have landed us!"

Suzy
Sophie
7/12/2010 06:25:06 am

Yes, being crazy or childish is definitely what the world needs right now.

Check out this TED video:
http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/eng/adora_svitak.html

Reply
Suzy
7/13/2010 02:20:11 am

I totally agree. But I do like the term "childlike" better than "childish" : )

Reply



Leave a Reply.